The voice on Roku is nothing but the audio guide or descriptions that sounds wherever your remote hovers over a particular menu. It will read out the text, menu options, and other items that appear on your Roku screen. People with vision impairment can use it to navigate the Roku menu with ease. Some users may activate it by mistake and find it more annoying while using your Roku device. So we are here to guide you with a tutorial to turn off the voice or audio guide on Roku.

There are two possible ways to turn off or disable the voice description:

  • Using Roku remote
  • Via Roku Settings

Turn Off Audio Guide using Roku Remote

The voice guide is mostly activated by pressing the * button on your Roku remote 4 times. You can deactivate it by simply pressing the * button again for 4 times.

HOW TO TURN OFF VOICE ON ROKU

Turn On and Off the Audio Description via Roku Settings

[1] Press the Home button on your Roku remote.

[2] Choose the Settings menu.

Settings

[3] Select Accessibility.

Accessibility

[4] Under Accessibility, choose Audio Guide.

[5] Here, you can turn on or off the Audio guide whenever you need.

HOW TO TURN OFF VOICE ON ROKU

Disable Audio Guide Shortcut

To avoid launching the Audio guide from your Roku remote, follow the below steps.

[1] Go to Settings and choose Accessibility.

Accessibility

[2] Select the Audio Guide option .

[3] Under the Audio Guide menu, choose Shortcut.

[4] Tap on Disabled option to turn off the shortcut.

HOW TO TURN OFF VOICE ON ROKU

Related Guide: Steps to Turn Off Closed Caption on Roku

Customize Voice Guide on Roku

Roku also lets you do or customize the audio guide according to your need. You can alter the speech rate and the volume of the guide.

Firstly of all, Go to Settings >> Accessibility >> Audio Guide.

  • Select Speech rate and choose the speed that you want: Slow, Normal, Fast, or Very Fast.
Speech rate
  • Select Volume and choose Low, Medium, or High.
volume

Hope this guide helps you turn off the voice guide that sounds on your Roku device. If you don’t want to use that feature, it is advisable to disable the respective shortcut as there is an high chance of activating it by mistake.